PDA

View Full Version : Restoring Painted Silky Oak plywood

base454
21st July 2009, 11:45 AM
Hi Everyone

Im new to this kind of thing so this question will probably sound silly to most but any help would be great.

I have bought an old silky oak cupboard with solid frames and silky oak plywood (veneered) panels. All of which have been painted white:no:.

What is the best way to remove the paint on the silky oak plywood door and side panels?

I was thinking of just using shelac on the sanded/stripped back surface for the finish?

Thanks Guys

ColW
21st July 2009, 07:59 PM
A pic would be handy here

But i have what may be a silly question for you
How do know that what's under the paint is silky oak?

I've seen some old veneered panels that only have silky
oak visible on the inside, the outside was another timber
deemed more suitable at the time.

the other question i have is Do you think you'd be able
pull the frames apart, remove the ply to take the paint
off, or simply reverse it?

As for actually getting the paint off, you might get lucky
if there's an original laquer underneath the paint, it may
literally peel off, however if it was sanded, then applied
the paint will probably have gotten into the grain, which
means you'll probably never get all of it off.

Bit more info needed

regards
col.

base454
22nd July 2009, 09:26 AM
Hi Col, thanks for the reply, Im only going of by the person who sold it. Heres a couple of pics if it helps.

So is paint stripper the best use if I dont want to pull it apart? Or will it warp the silky oak ply wood?

ColW
22nd July 2009, 05:39 PM
Ok, now i can see what we're talking about, it looks like
a worthwhile project.

My advice for the door is, remove the ply.
It will be sitting inside grooves cut into the sides of the
door, it wont be glued but the paint will be holding it in.
What you can do is remove the bead from the inside of
the door. If you know someone who owns a router and