PDA

View Full Version : What tree is that

colbra
21st July 2004, 10:32 PM
Hi everyone I have just returned from the Mudgee field day was a top event.
While I was there I had little wander around the country side looking for what might be some nice pieces of wood to turn, at this stage I realised that I was at a bit of a loss for two reasons one I know nothing about timbers or trees and two I am only new to this wood turning.
Apply common since to things eg: not to go on private property and not cutting down any trees I found the thing a bit of a waste of time what I was wondering if there are any books on Australian timber that might lend itself to this type of thing
Regards Colbra :)

E. maculata
21st July 2004, 10:40 PM
Gidday Colbra, Try "forest trees of Australia" CSIRO publication around a $100.00 known in some forestry circles as the "Bible"

Bruce C

colbra
21st July 2004, 10:49 PM
Hi Bruce
does it explain if the timber would be any good turning or just general characteristics of that particular timber thanks for your reply
Col

E. maculata
21st July 2004, 11:05 PM
On some species it does give a limited usage guide, however there are 2 others that I'm aware of that can be used in conjunction to find a more detailed wood properties guide. "The Commercial Timbers of NSW and their uses" (Angus & Robertson) & "Wood in Australia" Types, properties & uses(McGraw-Hill) both by the venerable Keith R Bootle, although I haven't seen a metric version of the first ever since I accidently gave my metric copy away (freudian accidentally maybe). Between the three I can usually track from "what the heck is that tree" stage to "this is what I'm gunna do with it".
As one of my hobbies is trying to collect samples of Native timbers that I'm unfamiliar with, I quite often refer to these myself.

Bruce C
Life is an experience to be enjoy......so enjoy :)

colbra
21st July 2004, 11:35 PM
Thanks Bruce