PDA

View Full Version : Pen Blanks 7mm problems Help

Barbossa
2nd November 2009, 04:22 PM
:no:Hi I am new to this form and new to pen making I have blanks that came with my kit and the 7mm tube are nice and slip in snug when I try to drill my own holes with a 7mm bit with a brad point the hole seams to be to big the 7mm tube fall right through.
I was woundering if this ia a common problem or is there something I am doing wrong
thanks

Rum Pig
2nd November 2009, 04:30 PM
You could have bent drill bit or you have not lined the blank up correctly when drilling.
A more detail's of your drilling procedures will help understand what is going on and pics.
You can get away with the hole being slightly over size but not to much. I you use epoxy resign for the glue you will have a higher success rate than super glue.

But I think if you want good advice and help give us the full run down on how you are drilling your blanks and as I said pic will help

Good luck and hope to hear from you soon:)

Sir Stinkalot
2nd November 2009, 04:57 PM
The drill bit may also be slightly over sized ..... Although it is a 7mm it may be 7.1mm. A single flute pen making drill bit would be a handy addition when you next place an order for new kits.

arose62
2nd November 2009, 05:16 PM
You could just have a cheap and nasty drill bit which is only 'nominally' 7mm, and in actuality quite a bit more than 7mm.

Have you used calipers to actually measure the bit?
Is it a good quality, name brand bit?

Cheers,
Andrew

petersemple
2nd November 2009, 05:45 PM
You may have runout on your drill press, which would do it. I started out by using a hand drill in a drilling stand. There was enough play in the stand that I had to be very careful or I got too large holes too.

Peter

Barbossa
2nd November 2009, 05:58 PM
I used a 7mm 5 1/2" HSS Brad Point Drill Bit from penn state Indsutries I purchased the large kit with all the supplies do it right type deal ha ah aha I have a new drill press