PDA

View Full Version : Lathe Dust Collection.

gragian
17th November 2009, 11:30 AM
I’m pretty new to woodworking and turning and was wondering what a good “dust collection” system would be for the lathe I want to get. I’ve read that dust, if left unmanaged, can be hazardous to your health (perhaps even leading to respiratory ailments) and I want to get advice on a product (either bought or made) that would be good to make sure that any dust (especially airborn particles) is kept in check.

It’d be a mini lathe that I’d just be turning pens and (maybe) bowls on, and my “workshop” space is fairly small, perhaps 10’ x 16’ or so.

I’ve looked at products that simply filter the air, systems with hoods for the lathe, and even read about people who attach furnace filters to box fans.

As far as price goes, I’d like to get a quality solution for as cheaply as possible (who wouldn’t, right?). I would like it If I could take care of things for $100 or less, if at all possible.

Given the work I want to do, on a mini lathe, in the space described, what would be your suggestion on a dust collection/management system that won’t break the bank?

Thanks much for any information or advice.

Texian
17th November 2009, 01:37 PM
Given your budget ($100) a box fan with filter in front is the answer. Placed directly behind the workpiece, it does a fairly decent job of directing the dust away from your breathing zone and collecting some of it. I have a small 1 hp. Jet DC (about $375 w/ 1 micron canister filter) that serves the table saw, 6x48 belt sander, and bandsaw, and extra filter in front of the heater/AC unit intake to help clean the air.

thefixer
17th November 2009, 05:11 PM
Here's my low budget dust collector that works pretty well.

Parts to acquire.

1 electric leaf blower. I'm pretty sure you can get these from any hardware store for around $60.00. Mine is a 600 watt makita that someone was throwing out.

1 60 litre ( or 12 gallon in your lingo:p) plastic rubbish bin.