PDA

View Full Version : ...a beginner's lathe?

wolften
13th December 2009, 12:28 PM
I am in the market, after Chrissy, to buy a small wood lathe.
I want to try my hand at a few pens, and some lazy susans to about 300mm diameter.
I have had no experience with a lathe, haven't even touched one.
Don't want to spend 1000's, just something for a beginner.
So what can you learned folk recommend.
Variable speed wood be nice
What sort of turning tools do I need for my foray into the roundy roundy world.
If you could be so kind as to recommend a few I'll take it from there and make a decision on price, features and colour.:U
Cheers

Glenn

Sebastiaan56
13th December 2009, 12:45 PM
Hi Glenn,

I started out with a second hand Record lathe of "that" auction site, cost me $200. Came with a few quite ordinary tools. My first job was to turn some handles for some chisel blanks I bought off McJings, $30 ea from memory. Apart from a few pen mills thats all Ive spent on woodturning kit. I dont do it often enough to justify spending more but it does enough to make handles for chisels, pens, knobs and the occasional bowls up to about 400mm round. Speed is changed by moving belts around.

I have turned on much better kit than I have and it performs better, is smoother etc but I cant justify the $$ I reckon 2nd hand would be the way to go and if it becomes an obsession then spend up big.

Avery
13th December 2009, 12:47 PM
I too am in the same marketplace. I have had some experience at turning , but it was a few years ago. I have decided agaist the mini-lathes and also against anything with a bed made of tubes bolted together.

The one I am considering most seriously is this one

https://www.machineryhouse.com.au/Products?stockCode=W382

or one of its clones from other suppliers.
My only concern with this one is the minimum speed does not seem slow enough.

I'm looking forward to some learned opinions.

WOODY70
13th December 2009, 12:48 PM