PDA

View Full Version : A simple and first lid for a bowl Ideas?

flutetears
2nd January 2010, 05:28 AM
Well this is my first attempt at making a lid for a bowl.
As simple as it looks it was a challenge to make.
I used a flat piece of stock drilled a hole in the center then shaped the bottom to fit inside the bowl. Now I would like to do a more rounded top not using such a large hole in the center. I have looked for info on making lids and not found much. Maybe not the right keywords in the search. So what holding method’s should I be looking at?
I was thinking that I would need a thicker stock then I used on this so that I could do a tendon and hold it in a chuck just like a bowl. But I would like to use some of my flat ¾ in stock that I have in the shop. I considered a face plate but I don’t want to have the screw holes to deal with. I could glue a piece of wood and use the face plate but wonder if I could avoid that.
Ideas?
Brad

orificiam
2nd January 2010, 08:29 AM
Hi Brad you could use double sided tape with the face plate or Hot melt Glue.
Nice lid and bowl by the way.
Cheers Tony.:)

flutetears
2nd January 2010, 09:56 AM
Hi Brad you could use double sided tape with the face plate or Hot melt Glue.
Nice lid and bowl by the way.
Cheers Tony.:)

Thanks
I have thought of the double sided tape will it hold?
hmmm never thought of the Hot melt glue now I have some of that wonder how well that would hold. I have 3in face plates may be time to make a larger version.
Just what I need another project for me LOL:wink:

Manuka Jock
2nd January 2010, 10:06 AM
Thanks
I have thought of the double sided tape will it hold?
hmmm never thought of the Hot melt glue now I have some of that wonder how well that would hold. I have 3in face plates may be time to make a larger version.
Just what I need another project for me LOL:wink:
Brad , a 3'' faceplate , with a 3" glue block screwed to it , will be fine
unless your lid is a yard or so across :D.