PDA

View Full Version : Sanding a painted jarrah door

Complete Novice
28th August 2004, 02:32 AM
Hi everyone!
This is my first post so be nice ok? :)
I've acquired a beautiful old jarrah front door for my little townhouse and need help bringing her back to life.
At first it was painted green (shocking!!) and I've removed most of that with a paint stripper. I've got a lot of the undercoat off with my little Mouse Sander, but DAMN it's taken a while!!
The door also has 5 glass panels, which is very nice. Problem is I can't get the paint off the little wooden bits holding the glass in, without risking scratching the glass....
Can anyone please help me? Is there any easier way of sanding the bugger, and how would I go about sanding the little bits holding the glass upright? Also, it's got small sections of white wood filler in it where the previous door handle has been, which will show when I eventually stain it. Any suggestions?
(Sorry, told you I was a novice!!)
Thankyou!!!
Matt

miked
28th August 2004, 07:08 AM
Hi Matt,

I had a very similar problem to you when I restored and french polished an old side board a couple of months ago. The way I eventually stripped the small battons of wood around the window glass, was to use steel wool (000 grade) soaked in a bit of turps. It took a while, but it worked and didn't damage the glass.
As for the coloured wood filler, I ended up removing it to just below the surface and refilling the holes with a colour matched filler. Maybe someone else on the board has some better (easier) ideas.
I hope this helps and good luck with your project.

Mike

bitingmidge
28th August 2004, 07:29 AM
Commercial stripping companies sometimes use high pressure water to remove the gunk, if you try it, I think it would pay to remove the glass first!