PDA

View Full Version : Dangerous Idea?

thealfheim
4th September 2004, 01:23 AM
Hi All,

I'm a new member based in Sydney. Ive been woodturning on and off for a few years now.

Ive just recently had an idea, which in theory should work. My only concern is that it may be a little unsafe. I thought I should ask some people "in the know".....

Is it a dangerous/silly idea to use a router and a lathe together?

Ive seen pictures of this done before in woodturning magazines, but of course, they dont go into detail about how its done.

My thought was that I could make a jig which would act as a bed for the router, which would sit above a piece of timber which is spinning between centers. When the router is plunged, the cutting bit would make contact with the timber.

The end result I'm after is an accurate, gradual taper. I think I'm reasonable with the skew - but I'm far from precise! I'd like the piece of timber to come out very accurate - hence the thought of a mechanical design.

There's just something about taking to one power tool with another that sets of the safety alarm in the back of my head. Had I have not seen pictures of people using these tools together before, I would dismiss the idea rather quickly.

Has anyone had any experience with the two tools?
Am I right in being extra cautious with this idea? Or should I scrap it?

Any advice offered would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
TheAlfheim

If anyone would like to see a picture of what I'm describing (in case I'm being too vague), let me know.

smidsy
4th September 2004, 01:57 AM
G'day, welcome to the madhouse.
I have heard of this being done although I have never actually seen it done - I am a relative newbie myself.
Sherwood (probably marketed under other brands as well) actually make a router lathe so it can be done.
Timbecon is a Perth shop but you might like to check it out at.
http://www.timbecon.com.au/productsdetail.asp?prodid=27307&searchOffset=0

Cheers
Paul

Kev Y.
4th September 2004, 05:31 AM