PDA

View Full Version : Turned my hand to tablelamps.

derekcohen
23rd February 2010, 02:21 AM
I don't really belong in the Turning Forum, as I am really a novice with anything beyond tool handles.

This tablelamp (and its twin - I made two identical) is a rather simple design, but it took a long time to conceptualise. I never ceases to amaze me that the simple designs are the hardest.

My inspiration came from pictures of ships decanters. I love the flowing lines of some of the modern versions, and I could see a lamp in there somewhere.

I only have a little Jet mini. That and the wood I used - a salvaged (very, very dry) Karri (harder than Jarrah, interlocked, and stringy) roof beam - made this really strenuous work.

The Karri is nearly identical in looks to Jarrah - many find it impossible to tell apart. It is reddish-brown .. and Lynndy said she did not want any more Jarrah! So I added a black stain, finished it in oil and wax. The result is very dark, but the grain shows through. The pictures here were taken this evening, hand held camera and no flash, so they could be better.

I'd be interested in comments about the balance of height to width. Lynndy and I chose the shade(s) together, and she gave the pair her nod of approval, so I guess that is one more set of items to tick off the list.

Here they are - as I said, there are two, on identical tables, against identical sofas, set opposite to one another.

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a262/Derek50/Turnings/Tablelamps/Tablelamp1.jpg

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a262/Derek50/Turnings/Tablelamps/Tablelamp2.jpg

Thanks for looking.

Regards from Perth

Derek

Evan Pavlidis
23rd February 2010, 02:49 AM
They look good on those small tables, not too plain and not too elegant. Nice form, clean and simple. Well done :2tsup: :2tsup:

If this is the first time you've ever turned then welcome to woodturning; it's a good addiction.

Cheers, Evan :)

artme
23rd February 2010, 08:36 AM