PDA

View Full Version : Last Few Turnings

Swino
28th February 2010, 08:42 PM
After a visit from Neil (Dai Sensai) today I thought it was about time that I posted a few of my latest projects.

I have been turning for about 15 months now. I'm a member at the local woodturning club and enjoy immensely the different projects that I've completed there. I'm slowly getting my shed organised at home.

The first is a hollowed form from Yellow Box Burl with a Blackwood Stopper. This is my second hollow form and I am really enjoying this area of turning. It is hollowed to about 5mm walls with about 2 cm solid at the bottom for stability. Dimensions without the stopper are 165mm high and 100mm width at the widest point. Hollowed form finished with 6 coats of DO & Stopper finished with wax.

Hollowed using a home made hollower using a 10mm TC cutter.

Comments Welcome.

Swino
28th February 2010, 08:46 PM
2nd Project - Flower

I turned this last week and am dying to try and see how long and thin I can get the next one.

Not sure what the wood is. Stem is approx 2mm thick with a height of 165mm. Finished with Cabots Gel Clear.

Swino
28th February 2010, 08:49 PM
3rd Project - Conical box

I have done a few standard boxes but this proved challenging in comparison. Timber is Huon Pine. Approx 140mm high. Finished with DO.

tea lady
28th February 2010, 08:53 PM
Now you are just showing off. :rolleyes::D

Actually, I really like the last box.:2tsup: What was challenging about it? Fitting the lid and getting the shape to flow? Getting rid of all the sanding marks on the Huon? :rolleyes: Anyway, still like it.:cool::U

Swino
28th February 2010, 09:32 PM
On a standard box you can finish the outside prior to hollowing the inside. With the Conical Box I found I have to estimate it as much as possible and then refine the shape after hollowing it out. It was difficult to keep the walls thin and the outside shape straight.