PDA

View Full Version : Gloat

Alastair
14th September 2004, 12:14 PM
Took delivery of my new Nova 3000 last weekend, and got it finally set up and operating this Sunday.

What an improvement on my old cast iron monster. This should now ensure that every project is a gallery piece. :D

Seriously, however, even though I have been turning for 8 years, and have learnt the correct techniques at TAFE, there have been design and performance shortcomings (which I have been aware of) which now are shown up.

I would have liked to buy up to the Vicmarc, but on my budget could not justify the premium.

Watch this space for updates, as I get into the new toy.

Alastair

Kev Y.
14th September 2004, 03:05 PM
Congrats on the new baby. is it the DVR or the plain vanilla nova?

Kev ;) :rolleyes: :cool:

Little Festo
15th September 2004, 12:14 AM
Alistair, the Nova 3000 is a good lathe. I use one where my wife and I get tuition. I have a Vicmark 300 at home (a Vermek one). The Nova isn't as solid but is nice lathe to work on. All the best with you new machine and happy turning.

Peter

as_is
15th September 2004, 12:39 AM
If budget was a consideration, I guess you bought the 3000 and not the DVR. I suggest if you budget permits to buy the some jaw attachments to the Nova chuck especially the pin jaws and the large 100mm jaws.

Took delivery of my new Nova 3000 last weekend, and got it finally set up and operating this Sunday.

What an improvement on my old cast iron monster. This should now ensure that every project is a gallery piece. :D

Seriously, however, even though I have been turning for 8 years, and have learnt the correct techniques at TAFE, there have been design and performance shortcomings (which I have been aware of) which now are shown up.

I would have liked to buy up to the Vicmarc, but on my budget could not justify the premium.

Watch this space for updates, as I get into the new toy.

Alastair

Alastair
15th September 2004, 01:38 PM