PDA

View Full Version : An Easter Holiday quandary

haggismuncher
30th March 2010, 09:14 PM
I'm in a bit of a quandary. :?
Those evil Woodcraft Guild of Tasmania members let me have a shot of their mini lathe and having tried the crack cocaine of the woodworking world I am thoroughly hooked. :D

Being a teacher I have next week off so logic would say buy a mini lathe and get turning.:p I don't have big ideas (so far) just the usual pens, small bowls, etc

Only having the grand total of $300 at my disposal (Ebay is out due to the long swim across the Bass Straight for collection or huge freight costs)

I have some choices:

Buy a generic cheapy (http://moonahmachinery.com.au/default.php?cid=25&pre=wood_) for $265 and cross the fingers on quality.
Wait a couple of paydays and get something moderately good quality such as a Woodfast (http://www.woodfast.com.au/index.php?p=1_5) mini for $399 + $100 postage.
Or keep fingers crossed, keep saving and hope something good comes up second hand (a 1993 Vicmarc V200 went for $600 in the local paper at the weekend).
I know I'm going to have to forego the holiday turning, but it hurts.

Or does anyone know of any other alternatives?

Chris
Fern Tree,
Hobart

wheelinround
30th March 2010, 09:23 PM
wont break the budget and allows more turning a good starter lather for under $400 https://www.machineryhouse.com.au/Products?stockCode=W382 plus you'll have to buy tools and chucks but not straight away chucks anyway.

Ray

Watch the Market place on the right side of the forum I am sure a lathe in Tassie was there recently some times ebay

brendan stemp
31st March 2010, 08:38 AM