PDA

View Full Version : bowl saver on woodfast midi lathe

Dave.w
20th April 2010, 11:22 PM
I am fairly new to woodturning and have a woodfast 305 midi lathe. I find that I can turn reasonable sized bowls on it but it seems a bit wasteful to get just one bowl out of each blank. I'm considering getting a bowl saver eg woodcut but am concerned how well it would work on such a small lathe. Does anyone have experience with bowl savers on small lathes? Any advice appreciated.

RETIRED
20th April 2010, 11:27 PM
The 305 is a great little lathe but is under powered for that sort of work.

robo hippy
21st April 2010, 02:48 AM
Generally I would recommend 1 hp minimum for coring. The Woodcut does work well on smaller lathes, and is kind of fool proof. The only coring system that is made for mini lathes is the micro one from McNaughton (Kelton tools). The tip is 1/4 inch or slightly smaller. The other coring systems all have cutters that are 3/8 inch wide, so try a 3/8 inch (I think that is about 1 cm) wide scraper and see how it cuts. The McNaughton system does have a learning curve, but once you get past it, it is the best one out there. Every one who uses it swears by it, and every one who has tried to use it swears at it as well.

robo hippy

rsser
21st April 2010, 08:14 AM
The WF midi + bowlsaver will cope with green wood coring up to maybe 8" of Cherry acc to one UK user.

But with hard/dry, even 1hp can be a trial.

Jim Carroll
21st April 2010, 09:24 AM
Agree with Ern on this one, if you had the VS model of the M305 it can handle this better with a bit more grunt.

1hp is really the minimum if you want to do the larger size as indicated a 10mm cut into the face of a bowl can be a bit daunting for most lathes of dubious origins.

NeilS
21st April 2010, 05:10 PM