PDA

View Full Version : A Question gor Gatiep

westpest
21st September 2004, 12:28 AM
Hey Joe

Next time you look at your VL175 can you tell me if the tailstock lines up exactly with the headstock-point to point that is. I'm asking because mine dosen't and I am wondering if this is why some of my turned pens are not even on the tube. I have to push the mandrel down a little about 2mm to lock on.

Good to see you back...

Dan F

DWFII
21st September 2004, 12:52 AM
I'm no expert, although I've turned a few pens, but several thoughts occur:

First, my lathe (a cheap China knock-off ) is very sloppy in the ways and the point of the tailstock center can be shifted an eighth of an inch either way before the tailstock is locked down. But knowing that I am able to always position the point to the left and that's seems to work. If you are turning between centers, it's point to point and as long as you either never dismount the wood or if you are sure to re-mount it exactly as it was, there should be no problems with the turning being off-center.

Second, if you have to spring the mandrel down it is an almost certain sign that the mandrel is bent. This can happen for a number of reasons...you tightened the tailstock up too much or perhaps you pushed too hard (dull tools?) when turning.