PDA

View Full Version : What chisel to use

Islander
22nd June 2010, 04:38 AM
Hellllllllllllp.
I am new to the wood turning addiction and need some advice. I turn pens (hopeless addiction) and am wanting to start on wine & sherry goblets, egg cups and small boxes as I only have a mini lathe. To turn the small bowls etc what bowl guage do I use. By that I mean size, shape etc. I have one 1/2" spindle guage which is way too long and difficult to manuver. Many thanks for reading my first thread ever in my life and I hope there will be many more as my addiction gets out of hand:U

RETIRED
22nd June 2010, 07:47 AM
Gooday and welcome.

With practice you could do all of the above with the 1/2" spindle gouge but a 3/8 bowl gouge would be a handy addition.

Do you belong to a club? They are a good source of inspiration and learning.

Ed Reiss
22nd June 2010, 12:06 PM
Welcome Rogerwasko :U

...what said, but if no clubs in your area there's always books and video's, and of course this forum.

brendan stemp
22nd June 2010, 08:55 PM
Use a scraper. First drill a hole to the depth you need. Use a round nose scraper, about 1/2" or 3/4" and work from the middle out. Make sure your cuts aren't too big, keep them to about 1/4" so you need a tight curve on the scraper. Easy stuff, works well on end grain. Make sure the scraper is kept sharp.

Islander
23rd June 2010, 04:24 AM
Use a scraper. First drill a hole to the depth you need. Use a round nose scraper, about 1/2" or 3/4" and work from the middle out. Make sure your cuts aren't too big, keep them to about 1/4" so you need a tight curve on the scraper. Easy stuff, works well on end grain. Make sure the scraper is kept sharp.
Good idea. I get so much advice from you guys it makes me feel special. I am going to try your way and buy the gauge.
Regards
Roger

Islander
23rd June 2010, 04:26 AM
Welcome Rogerwasko :U

...what said, but if no clubs in your area there's always books and video's, and of course this forum.