PDA

View Full Version : Yeah people after some info

Nai84
21st August 2010, 12:13 AM
Hi people

Just wondering if you could suugest any good wood turning books for me to read as i am fairly new to wood turning and i am learning buy myself as i dont know any other wood turners.:D:D:D

stuffy
21st August 2010, 02:21 AM
Welcome to the forum Nai84, you'll get to know plenty of turners here!

Check out your local library for books by Richard Raffan, Mike Darlow, Keith Rowley or any of a hundred others.

If you get stuck with something specific don't be afraid to ask dumb questions here or private message me I live just down the road a bit and I'd be glad to help.

Best Wishes
Steve
:)

mkypenturner
21st August 2010, 07:19 AM
besides the books there is good old youtube that way you can see how is being done not just a fews pics

Ed Reiss
21st August 2010, 12:10 PM
Hi Nai84 and welcome to the nut house:doh::2tsup:

A really good book to check out is Turned-Bowl Design by Richard Raffan. It's from 1987, but just as relevant today.

The ISBN is 0-918804-82-5 There is a wealth of info there.

steck
21st August 2010, 12:32 PM
besides the books there is good old youtube

I agree mkypenturner.
There is a lot of quite good stuff on youtube. Great spot for beginners to start.

RETIRED
21st August 2010, 12:36 PM
I agree mkypenturner.
There is a lot of quite good stuff on youtube. Great spot for beginners to start.And a lot of bad, really bad.:oo:

Tim the Timber Turner
21st August 2010, 01:39 PM
And a lot of bad, really bad.:oo:

Really really bad, some of it.:oo::oo:

Only good if you want to do yourself a serious injury.:no:

The difficulty for a newbie is knowing what is good and what is dangerous.

Cheers

Tim

Nai84
21st August 2010, 03:21 PM
Thank you for the info it will be most helpfull to me does anyone know if there is any where i can get some wood turning class around where i live
:D:D:D:D

Cheers

rsser
21st August 2010, 03:47 PM