PDA

View Full Version : Nova dvr xp

Skip15
15th September 2010, 11:11 AM
Hi there,
I'm a novice turner looking to purchase first lathe for my home workshop. Would be interested in views on the NOVA - durability and reliability plus after sales service. I have used same in classes and like the feel of it and convenience of electronic speed control.
many thanks:)

hughie
15th September 2010, 01:14 PM
If the budget is ok its a good place to start, many start out with a Chinese knock off and then move onto such as a Nova etc

rsser
15th September 2010, 03:06 PM
EVS is available on a range of lathes.

The DVR XP has a suberb motor/driveline. Very powerful and smooth.

IME the machining and castings don't match that by some distance.

If you're wanting to do a lot of bowls and platters, the geometry of the swivel head/outrigger is limiting. And the lack of an available remote control and the absence of electronic braking make it a dangerous machine in my view for that application.

After sales service? Buy from a good retailer; don't expect much from the factory.

Anyway, welcome to the forum Skip.

robo hippy
15th September 2010, 04:07 PM