PDA

View Full Version : My first bowl

ozhunter
17th October 2010, 10:29 PM
Here are some pics of my first bowl.

The timber is from the 2nd hand shop in town that was cutting down some trees (Elm?) and he gave be a bunch of it.

The dark ring in the base is where I made a blew when turning the inside, went too deep, made turning off the tenon interesting. You can see daylight through it:-

I don't know why I didn't turn the foot properly to start with:doh:

I turned it green a couple of weeks ago and used the soak in metho then store in a paper bag, weighing each day until it weighed the same, method.

The chip out of the rim is from where it frisbeed out of the faceplate recess when I had a catch turning off the foot.

Apologies for the poor photo's, as a photographer, I make a good farmer.

oz

artme
18th October 2010, 06:43 AM
Nice one Oz.:):):)

You learned a lot in turning that.

tea lady
18th October 2010, 09:09 AM
:2tsup: NIce one. Nice flowing lines and pleasing shape. Fair size too. Turning green is fun isn't it. :cool:

ozhunter
18th October 2010, 10:01 AM
artme. I did learn a bit.

TL. It was fun turning the green wood. Shavings flying everywhere. Trueing the blank took a bit of work though. I'm not goping turn anymore of it till I get my bandsaw.

oz

tea lady
18th October 2010, 10:11 AM
artme. I did learn a bit.

TL. It was fun turning the green wood. Shavings flying everywhere. Trueing the blank took a bit of work though. I'm not goping turn anymore of it till I get my bandsaw.

oz:D chicken! But must admit i prefer them to be a bit round. If I turn unbalanced things in my lathe at home everything falls off the bench. :doh: At 's Its OK cos his lathes are a bit heavier and don't jump around so much. :rolleyes::cool:

rsser
18th October 2010, 11:02 AM
A fine first effort Ozhunter.