PDA

View Full Version : Timber Supplies

paulpotter
13th September 2000, 01:16 PM
Hi, I'm new to the woodturning. But having trouble finding a wood supplier in the area I live. I live in the north west suburbs of Melbourne. I am aware of Carbatec in Richmond and The Woodsmith in Bayswater.

Iain
13th September 2000, 01:35 PM
After you have been to Woodsmith in Bayswater head east along Canterbury road and cross over Liverpool Rd, there will be a big grey monolith on your right, This is Adams timber. Good range but a bit on the pricey side. After you have had a look around there head back along Canterbury and turn right into Rooks Rd in Nunawading/Mitcham. About 200-300 metres on your right is a timber place and I cannot remember the bloody name, it is a lot cheaper that Adams and they have a good range and for memory I think they have a scrap box. Rooks Rd joins Canterbury Rd to Maroondah Hwy/Whitehorse Rd.
Someone will read this and tell you the name of the yard that I can't remember.

RETIRED
13th September 2000, 04:56 PM
Gooday.

Mathews Timber is what you are thinking of Iain. http://ubb.ubeaut.com.au/ubb/smile.gif

Paul, if you are new to turning would suggest that you destroy a lot of firewood and pine fron Mitre 10 or Bunnings before you try on good stuff.

Also join a club or get lessons from some one who knows what it is about before you start.

------------------
Ian () Robertson
"We do good turns every day"

Iain
14th September 2000, 07:49 AM
And now back to 's comment, thanks for the Matthews, I just could not remember it.
Scraps, Bunnings have a scrap box full of rubbish but they want 49 cents a piece for it, I am talking about little slivers of masonite, 6" of fence paling etc.
A bit bloody rude and on this basis my scrap box must be worth several thousand dollars.
Try any timber yard and I am almost certain they will give the scraps to practice on.

jamesy
14th September 2000, 09:11 PM