PDA

View Full Version : Sundays' Turning

Picko
8th November 2010, 09:57 AM
G'day all

Haven't had much shed time of late but got there yesterday and turned a small (140x60) Myrtle bowl with black plastic (pipe fitting) and Huon Pine inlayed rim.

Unfortunately the Huon Pine developed 6 or 7 fine cracks during sanding/finishing. The finish is EEE and Glow.

I have never used plastic as an inlay before and I am blaming it for heat creation/induction into the Huon.

Any thoughts anyone.

Anyway I'm about to go for another first - attaching pics. Wish me luck!

Cheers
Picko

brendan stemp
8th November 2010, 10:48 AM
Excellent work Picko. Good form and the inlay design works very well. Cracks in Huon are called heat checks. These are created from the friction generated in the sanding process that heats the resin in the timber and cracks the wood. Sand with a slow lathe speed and apply minimal pressure on sandpaper. Heat checks are uncommon with a lot of Aussie timbers because of the low resin content in them but Huon Pine (indeed any pine) is one you need to be careful with.

Picko
9th November 2010, 08:03 AM
Thanks Brendan. I was aware of heat checking but have never experienced it before.

munruben
9th November 2010, 08:12 AM
Well done, looks great. Finish has come up really well.:2tsup:

artme
9th November 2010, 08:24 AM
Very well done Picko.!!! :2tsup::2tsup::2tsup:

The fine cracks in the HP might be friction cracks caused by overheating when sanding.

Slowing the lathe down to sand will help and not holding the paper on for long periods also cuts the heat build up.

Picko
9th November 2010, 05:13 PM
Thanks all. Might sneak to the shed again tonight.

Picko

Little Festo
9th November 2010, 08:33 PM
If you have problems with heat checking back off on the speed and pressure when sanding, always keep the sandpaper moving. Also one of those rotary sanding thingies work really well and avoids heat checking.