PDA

View Full Version : Securing Wood

Canadian_Shawn
4th November 2004, 01:54 AM
Hi guys and gals,

I am new to woodturning. I just bought a new 37" lathe with a 12" swing. It came with face plates and center points but with no chucks. I have been looking around the internet for a good chuck but they are all real expensive. For my first bowl that I turned I used a jamfit chuck to secure the bowl for hollowing. What are your tips for securing wood for hollowing without chucks and does anyone know where I can buy chucks that don't cost a fortune? I am looking for collet, spigot, whatever. Just anything that can secure my work for me.

Thanks in advance.

Shawn
From Up Over

smidsy
4th November 2004, 02:58 AM
Hei Shawn,
Welcome to the world of wood turning and the madhouse that is this forum.

For turning larger bowls you could use the face plate, I usually cover the bottom of the bowl with adhesive felt from a fabric shop as a finishing touch and you could use this to hide the screw holes.
A chuck really is worth the money, and once you've bought one you will wonder why you hesitated in getting one.
As for sources, this forum is mainly Australian users so you might like to check out the rec.crafts.woodturning newsgroup as someone there will know of a source in US or Canada.
Cheers
Paul

Canadian_Shawn
4th November 2004, 03:14 AM
Hei Shawn,
Welcome to the world of wood turning and the madhouse that is this forum.

For turning larger bowls you could use the face plate, I usually cover the bottom of the bowl with adhesive felt from a fabric shop as a finishing touch and you could use this to hide the screw holes.
A chuck really is worth the money, and once you've bought one you will wonder why you hesitated in getting one.
As for sources, this forum is mainly Australian users so you might like to check out the rec.crafts.woodturning newsgroup as someone there will know of a source in US or Canada.
Cheers
Paul