PDA

View Full Version : Woodturning teacher

groeneaj
6th February 2011, 04:39 PM
Hi,

I am very new to wood turning. I had my first introduction to turning a few weeks ago when I was in Melbourne - was kind enough to have me over for a day and he taught me some basics.

I then bought a second hand lathe which came with 6 turning tools, a few chucks and some other accessories.

I'm happy with my initial purchase, however I would find it extremely helpful if someone could come over and teach/show me some basics on my new lathe such as how to turn a bowl, the use of chucks etc...

I'm going to join my local turning club soon, however I'd like to feel more confident on my own lathe first. I have also hired some turning books from the library which has helped.

So if anyone is looking for some cash and is experienced in turning please send me a PM. I live in Baulkham Hills.

Cheers,
Andy

wheelinround
6th February 2011, 04:45 PM
Great news Andy well done. Shame you didn't come t the GtG. Come on guy's jump in I would show him what I know but whats the point of going all that way for 5sec':p

groeneaj
6th February 2011, 05:48 PM
Hey Ray - I wasn't aware of the GTG.... Ah well, next time!

bowl-basher
6th February 2011, 06:36 PM
Hi
I suggest that you come along to the western sydney wood turners we meet most days through the week and Friday night from 6.30 (when I go )
as a new turner you will be made most welcome and we have clases for beginner to advanced turner
the address is as follows

Twin Gums Retreat
Cnr Northcott Road & Diane Drive,
Lalor Park NSW

this is the link to the website
Western Sydney Woodturners - About Us (http://www.westernsydneywoodturners.com/)
I am at dundas and am home most afternoons you would be welcome to join me in the shed at any time
best regards
Bowl-Basher

wheelinround
6th February 2011, 06:41 PM
Bowl Basher is a top bloke but has got the address wrong for the best turners group in his area.:p