PDA

View Full Version : Hello and some pots

yarrabilly
24th June 2011, 01:00 PM
Hello everyone,

I've been lurking on the forum for quite some time - initially in the general woodwork areas - so thought it was long overdue for me to introduce myself.

I discovered woodturning about 9 months ago and have to say that the bug has bitten pretty hard. I started out on a very old MC900 clone that destroyed itself after I pushed it a little too hard... I've since upgraded to a VL175. Needless to say that the difference is astounding.

I'm entirely self taught at the moment and still very much a beginner but have to say that I'm thoroughly enjoying every moment - even the failures. Although destroying a hollow form when trying to take one cut too many does invoke some expletives... This forum has been incredibly useful in helping me through some of the problems and I'm constantly amazed at how willing the incredibly knowledgeable people are to share and assist others. Truly one of the best forums I've seen regardless of subject matter.

Anyhow, my first offering below. Three pots turned from blackwood. Largest is 110mm high and about 90mm at its widest point. All comments and criticism more than welcome. Apologies for the pic quality - I'm a beginner in photography as well...

john

sjm
24th June 2011, 01:06 PM
Very nice, a great first post.

Allan at Wallan
24th June 2011, 05:59 PM
Very nice work Yarrabilly ... love blackwood, one of
my favourite woods ... plenty of it around this area and
around yours too. Enjoy the forum ... great ideas and
lots of friends to learn from.:2tsup:

Allan

DaveGlx
24th June 2011, 07:33 PM
very nice pots:2tsup: Like the shape and proportion.

kcam
24th June 2011, 07:46 PM
:2tsup::2tsup: Great form and proportion suggest that you pay a bit more attention to finish (or maybe it's the photo).......fantastic result as a beginner, the journey has begun:D

Sawdust Maker
24th June 2011, 08:30 PM
Nice
Looks good to me :2tsup:

TTIT