PDA

View Full Version : Advice required on new lathe

hdholden
2nd November 2011, 05:15 PM
Hi All,

I hope to attend the Trend Timbers Open & Sale day on November 19.

At this stage I'm looking to acquire a lathe.

I am just a beginner at the moment. Looking to turn bowls and hopefully pens.

As I'm relatively new to woodturning, I would appreciate some advice on the Jet and Cougar lathes. Or any other brand that might be suitable. Basically what models would be good for a beginner. Also any info about chucks would be good as well. I currently have a two sets of two tools, a carbon steel set and a HSS set, I also have bought a Tru-Grind sharpening system.

Budget is around the $1500.

Thanks for all your help.

Sam :)

old pete
2nd November 2011, 05:56 PM
Hi HDholden,

If you want to turn bowls and platters in any quantity then you want a machine with a swivel head so you can stand in front of the job with 180o access scope rather than leaning over the lathe bed which becomes very tiring and exposes you to a lot more dust and shavings. I don't know about current tooling. I've got three lathes all pretty old dating to the 60's, two are the heavy duty WA Tough brand and one is a dedicated bowl lathe a Viceroy. I bought all of these second hand and they have served me well over the last 35 years or thereabouts. I've bought a replacement VSD motor for each of he Tough's and replaced the Viceroy motor when the original Singer industrial sewing machine motor it was fitted with expired. Otherwise one set of replacement bearings in one machine and that's it.

My advice would be to look for good heavy second hand machines not new lightweight tackle.