PDA

View Full Version : Hiking Poles

Farnk
8th November 2011, 12:10 AM
Hi All,

As my young bloke has been getting into hiking lately (with Scouts) I've been making a few Hiking poles for him and his mates.

Unfortunately, the MC900's bed length dictates that these have to be made in sections. To join them, I've drilled out the pieces about 1/2 way down their length and glued a length of 3/4" dowel inside.

This has worked ok, but we've had some breakages on the trail.
Can anyone give me a hint on another method to join the sections?
I'm looking to end up with poles up to 1.2m or so.

Regs
F

dr4g0nfly
8th November 2011, 05:58 AM
I've got no experience of doing the joint in the middle of a hiking stick. But I connect the tops/handles to my sticks with threaded bar and epoxy.

Could you turn the stick as long as possible on your lathe then attach the top end in a different wood (nice branch fork or something).

Hence reducing the bend stress when pressure is put on it while using it as a support.

vk4
8th November 2011, 08:28 AM
Farnk,

what timber are you making the POLES from??

This may be the problem, what dia is the hole and dowel , any gap in the join will create a weakness(between dowel and hole sides & bottom & top) . Small bleed holes(1.5mm) along the join line will allow any excess glue and air to escape.

Fredo
8th November 2011, 09:51 AM