PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - is this the right hobby

DonJ
8th January 2012, 10:45 PM
Hi everyone,
I am a software developer by profession, but have found an interest in wood working in the recent past, in particular - Wood turning..
I'm in the process of learning wood turning (visited Carba tech, bought a few books, & some dvds on this subject).

I live in Maribyrnong suburbs, with a small garage, have a few very basic power tools... The more i read & learn about wood turning, the more discouraged i get about it...
i feel that i don't have the necessary tools or resources...

I would have to & will end up buying a wood late (small one, for around $300)...
but where do i buy the wood for turning???
Any ideas?

that seems to be the only stumbling block...
also, do i really need a band saw...
as i mentioned i have a small garage...i cannot fit a band saw, wood late, etc all in there...
i am hoping a simple saw would suffice in cutting the wood to size for turning....

once again:
Q1. where can i buy blanks for wood turning (not small ones for pens)
I am looking for slightly bigger blanks for a small (mini) wood lathe...
big n small enough to make toys for my little one

Q2. what other tools to i need apart from a wood late & the accessories...
Do i need a band saw? would a standard hand saw suffice...?
Do i need a drill press?

Thanks.

Dalboy
9th January 2012, 03:16 AM
I have been turning for a while now. as for wood I think I will leave that to those a little closer, but there always trees being cut down which can be a good supply. Have you got any tree surgeons near by(you may call them something else.
As for a bandsaw yes it would be a great addition to the workshop but not necessarily essential. I have managed without one so far

steck
9th January 2012, 07:12 AM
Hi Donj,