PDA

View Full Version : Tormek sharpening machine

Pages : [1] 2

Dez Built
11th January 2012, 09:33 PM
Hi All,

This is my first time on the forum, and wow there is a lot of useful information.

I am about to get back into woodturning and i was thinking of purchasing a Tormek T 7 to sharpen all of my tools. I have found the cheapest ones to be online at Amazon for $630 US. My guess is that they would have an american plug on them and would not be suited for use in Australia.
Does anyone have some more info on these and where would be the best place to buy them from?:)

Thank you.

PClark
11th January 2012, 10:24 PM
Hi Mate,

I have just bought a Tormek T7 I got it from Carba-Tec in Brisbane for a little bit more than Amazon I think it was around $900 I also got the wood turning kit for it at around $350. It has been outstanding, Everthing that needs to be sharpen in my workshop has been sharpened, and the other day I got the two knife jigs aswell so now my missus is happy too as all her knifes in the kitchen are sharp.

Jim Carroll
12th January 2012, 09:08 AM
One thing to remember when buying from overseas that the warranty is not covered here in Australia

Drillit
12th January 2012, 09:30 AM
Hello Dez Built,
From experience I suggest that you are very cautious about buying electrical equipment overseas. You might find that the conversion costs are such that you are worse off and as Jim rightly says - not warranty with the possibility of the product being damaged en route for which you have already paid for. I would suggest you look at the traditional suppliers and ebay to look for a good starter's package. I am sure that are folks in your area or nearby Brisbane that can help you. Further - it is most beneficial if you get some professional turner help with the learning process - invaluable. Joining a woodturning club - men's shed or the like if a massive help. Hope this helps. John M..

KCH
12th January 2012, 10:46 AM
Hi Dez Built