PDA

View Full Version : Saftey First - This could have been nasty!

Milo
19th January 2012, 11:43 AM
Well I hold my head in shame and embarrasment but I will share my mistake!

Ok, so I get my new Carba-Tec 3/4 power Drill press home and I whip it together faster than grease lightning. I take the time to read the assembly instructions carefully and tighten down all the bolts etc...ok looks good to go.

My drills are on the other side of the garage so I just grabbed what was closest a 400 mm long shaft Forstner bit, one of my late fathers. I thought mmmm it will make a nice pretty hole in some scrap.....

So I whacked it in clamped the scrap down and switched on the machine......

Of course I hadn't check what speed the drill was running and as it turned out it was on the fastest setting.

With a 400mm of shaft spinning too fast the Forstner bit/shaft went into a death spriral and before I could reach for the kill switch it snapped and projectiled off 90 degrees to me and impaled into the dry wall!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :o:o:o:o

I just stood there in disbelief!!!! and shock!!!!!!!

We are having our first kid in 3 weeks time and I bent over and kissed my own ass on how lucky I was...that could have been VERY Nasty!!!!!!!!!!:oo::oo:

I promptly adjusted the belts to a slower speed and things are much better noiw!

I was complacent...end of story.

I have always had a very healthy respect for the table saw, for the jointer and now the drill press!

Hopefully this story will make others think about their saftey and how easy it is for these machines to bite you.

Cheers

Milo

That was a Russel Coyte moment! bwahaha! :doh:

WOODbTURNER
19th January 2012, 11:56 AM
Milo,
It's moments like these that make people realise that machinery can be very dangerous. You were very lucky indeed.

Sawdust Maker
19th January 2012, 12:41 PM
ouch

rustynail
19th January 2012, 02:05 PM