PDA

View Full Version : Eucalyptus Burl bowls and Platters

woodturner777
16th March 2012, 10:28 AM
Just a few eucalyptus burl bowls and platters that I have turned looking forward to getting back on my lathe soon. regards Bob

Willy Nelson
16th March 2012, 10:47 AM
Well they look superb!!
I would like to see individual photos though, especially some of the larger ones with the distinctive gum veins
Well done
Willy
Jarrahland

wheelinround
16th March 2012, 01:16 PM
:2tsup::2tsup: E-by gum they look tops

bench1holio
16th March 2012, 01:54 PM
some nice looking bowls ther bob :2tsup:

Beneke
16th March 2012, 02:47 PM
Nice Work!:2tsup:

I'm a newbie to woodturning and have a few quesions regarding turning burl platters.
I have a couple of Jarrah Burl slices approx 500mm in diameter and between 40-60mm in thickness.

Question 1: Can burl be turned green or must it be dry?
Question 2: What is the best method to chuck burl slices?
Question 3: Any other comment or bits of information that might be usefull?

Regards
Stephen

mkypenturner
16th March 2012, 03:13 PM
nice work :2tsup: that would have kept you busy for a while

turnerted
16th March 2012, 04:33 PM
Nice looking bowls Bob. You must have a good supply of burl.

Beneke. You can turn burls green, infact I prefer it . Although burl does not usually move as much as normal green timber when drying , it is still best to leave it to fully dry a bit oversize then return it.
Mounting burl depends a bit on how sound it is . If you are confident you can screw into solid wood, just use a faceplate . If the timber is a bit iffey, you may like to consider glueing a bit of sound timber onto it then screwing a faceplate on to that .
If you are turning a lump of burl 500mm diameter you want to be sure you are going to hang on to it.
Ted

brendan stemp
16th March 2012, 06:24 PM
Lookin' real nice!!

I, like Willy Nelson would like to see some individual pics to show case them better.

Either way, great work.

artme