PDA

View Full Version : Think I have proved that gardening is good for you

Phil Spencer
29th March 2012, 07:24 PM
I suffer from Hypertension and have to take maximum doses of several available drugs on top of that I have an Angina problem, enough background.

Today I decided to do some gardening, I am in the middle of pulling out some well rooted plants to prepare the bed for a new scheme. it is hard bloody work some of these plants would have been easier to blast out with explosives.

When I started my Blood Preasure was a healthy 140/80 the tablets were working, after about four hours and being totally buggered I was surprised to see my Blood Pressure had doped to 90/56 no wonder I was buggered.

Is this normal for ones BP to drop so much after a bit of hard work? Or is gardening really good for you? On the bright side I had no chest pains.

Scott
29th March 2012, 09:06 PM
First off, I'll divulge that I'm an Nurse (ICU) but I'll add a disclaimer. Your Doctor's advice will be better than mine.

3 possible reasons Phil.

Firstly, you probably were not hydrated enough. Was it a hot day and how much fluid did you drink while you were in the garden? If you don't have enough fluid aboard then your blood pressure will be low. You should be drinking at least 2 litres of water a day unless you're on a fluid restriction. Drink more if exercising or spending time in a hot shed or gardening.

Secondly, your medications could of been working too well. If so, speak to your Doctor to get the meds adjusted. Just to make sure, check your blood pressure at the same time tomorrow without gardening or any strenuous work.

Thirdly, some peoples blood pressure can be low because of an altered heart rhythm. Check your pulse next time. If it's regular and between 80-100, your okay. If it's irregular, then see your doctor or call and ambulance. If it's regular and fast (greater than 100) then your dehydrated and need fluid.