PDA

View Full Version : How to Maximise the wood I have.

Oiliver
14th April 2012, 08:39 PM
Preface: I'm just a young turner from New Zealand, I am a complete newby, I only recently bought a lathe so this might seem a tad daft; sorry if it is silly!

So I recently received a stack of ten or twelve pieces of Kauri that had been salvaged out of an old Villa that had been pulled down. For those that don't know, Kauri is a beautiful hard wood from New Zealand, it is probably our best-known wood/tree, and is semi-hard to come by, as there is very little comercial cropping. Of course being a poor student, and an avid recycler, I not only couldn't turn down these blocks, but I want to make them go as far as possible. :2tsup:

There lies the problem though, as they are recycled, each 110x145x70mm block has two holes on the top face, and one slightly smaller hole through the center (See picture One).
I was wondering if anyone could recommend either a way to cut the blocks to maximise the wood I get out, or alternatively project(s) that would suit such a piece.

A slightly easier question (maybe?) :? is I also have stacks and stacks of olive wood, it has some beautiful patterns, but the logs are kind of squashed rather than round. (An example in pictures 2 and 3).
Therefore, do you think it would be best to:
-just try and get one piece out of the logs from the centre and have it skinny?
-cut the logs in half and try get two pieces out of it?
-is there a better use for the logs which look like this, should I try and save it for inlays and detailing and little bits and pieces?
-something different alltogether?
NB I have already made a handful of coasters and a vase and a very pretty little bowl, but I wasted a lot of wood making them, using a whole piece to get one blank. Very nice, and I have a reasonable stash of the wood, but I'm a real miser, and want to always have a bit available :)