PDA

View Full Version : Gazebo

numbat
3rd March 2005, 12:44 PM
SWMBO and I are considering an octagonal gazebo for the garden. I guess the options are either a kit or build from a plan.

Has anyone got any experiences or comments or suggestions on this.

Cheers

Rookie
3rd March 2005, 03:36 PM
If you build from a kit you have no problem except that a) you won't get a design that you really really like, and b) you won't have designed and built it yourself so you won't be happy.

I built one a while ago, and while it wasn't octagonal (it was square), it fitted the area I had very well because I designed it for that area so I didn't waste space. It also was dimensioned considering some good outdoor furniture we already had, and was considered too expensive to replace.

It's not difficult, and I'm no expert by any means, but the few things I would say are
a) brush up on your Pythagoras because working out the lengths of roofing timbers which peak in the centre and go to the corners is tricky. (at least is was for me who had long lost the small amount of Trig belted into me years before)
b) I used framed lattice for fences on two sides, because it was a nice divider from the ferney, but more important, provided a very nice bracing function which minimised the bracing up at eye or eave level (the standard size of lattice panels plus framing was therefore a factor in dimensions as well)
c) Don't scrimp on roof covering if you're going to use it. I used laserlite and am glad I did.
d) The pointy bit, where all the roof timbers join up in the middle (there must be a techo name for that) can be joined using either a decorative post which the timbers are butt joined to, or steel bracket with eight legs built for the purpose. The decorative timber post is much nicer, you can make your own, and if you're using a covering such as laserlite you can design in a ridge for rain proofing. If you use the octagonal bracket, waterproofing becomes a challenge.