PDA

View Full Version : Wood turning lathe

pfc101941
15th August 2012, 06:37 PM
Hi my name is Peter, I am a recently retired builder who has been in the game for 50 years. I have for quite some time had a notion that wood turning would give me a satisfying persuit to follow. My quest is to aquire a suitable lathe which is appropriate for my status as a beginner in this new field. I think that the lathe should be a medium size (say a bed length as you call it between centres of 900 mm) with a swivel head and a firm undercarriage. I have looked at a model at Hare and Forbes Dandenong (cat WL-18) I don't like the idea of a machine which is a 'Dinky Toy' but something which can be adapted to "greater things" as I become more proficient at it. My question is am I on the right track ? Your suggestions are welcome.

Avery
15th August 2012, 07:03 PM
You are certainly on the right track with your thinking.

Remember to include in your thoughts the tools that you will need and the accessories such as a chuck, and perhaps faceplates, toolrests , maybe some dust management etc etc.

Most people have a budget to start with and the budget needs to include all the extras.

It is no good getting a really good lathe and not being able to afford the bits to make it work.

Oh, and find a woodturning club that you can get to to learn how to use your new toys quickly and safely.

Sturdee
15th August 2012, 07:31 PM
I have looked at a model at Hare and Forbes Dandenong (cat WL-18) I don't like the idea of a machine which is a 'Dinky Toy' but something which can be adapted to "greater things" as I become more proficient at it. .

I have one of those lathes and with a little tweaking they are good lathes. The legs are just pressed metal so do like I did and bolt it to a firm bench. Remember that the lathe is only the beginning, chucks, face plates, better drive and revolving centres and tools will add to your total costs.