PDA

View Full Version : First turning in over 22 years.....

Geekgirl
16th August 2012, 09:54 PM
Hi all.

I am a newbie to woodworking, having just built a work bench, Today I decided was the day to get the lathe out and turn some wood :) I bought a midi bench top lathe at the Perth wood show (it was a good price). When I was at my tool suppliers looking at dust collection I spied a pile of wood the owners sells on the side :). I bought a bit of square camphor wood for $8 it was nice and dry (but still waxy :)

I kept putting off doing anything, as I have forgotten so much :( So today I plucked up the courage, and turned it :) I finished sanding it on the lathe, then sanded with small squares of sandpaper where the 4 Jaw chuck sat :) As I was turning the outside, I turned down to a branch hollow, it had a bit of branch in it that I slid out as it was loose, I love the look of the dark contrasting on the light.

I have not sealed this yet as I am reading up on Rustin's Plastic Coating. I want to use this on anything that can be used for food :)

I know I made a couple of mistakes, I did not make the hole for the chuck deep enough, so the bowl was not perfectly square, so the lip has a slight warp to it ;) I think it adds character :)

Kat.

WOODbTURNER
16th August 2012, 10:09 PM
Go girl. Looks good!

Paul39
17th August 2012, 05:45 AM
Very nice!

Do some research about Tung oil finish. If you are making a salad bowl, mineral oil from a pharmacist / drug store.

I have several posts about how I use Tung oil, do a search.

If you are making a soup bowl I guess Rustin's would work, but the process looks tedious.

tea lady
17th August 2012, 10:12 AM
Hi all.

I have not sealed this yet as I am reading up on Rustin's Plastic Coating. I want to use this on anything that can be used for food :)

Kat.Nice little bowl:cool: I like holes and distortions too. :2tsup: