PDA

View Full Version : first attempts at endgrain hollowing

michael_m
18th August 2012, 03:41 PM
Hi all,
I thought I would put up my first attempts at hollowing end grain.

I got a sorby hollowmaster cheaply the other day, and after turning a handle for it, I tried it out on the stub of wood left in my chuck and made a little goblety eggcup. Actually, in the end I did the hollowing with a small spindle gouge, and turned the shape of it with a skew and spindle gouge. It was also my first attempt at eccentric turning, I just loosened and repositioned it in the chuck jaws when it came time to turn the stem. It's about 7cm high.

About an hour ago, I just finished turning my first ever hollow form, a cypress vase, about 15cm high. For a first attempt, I'm pretty damn happy with it. I finished it on the outside with danish oil, but haven't done anything to the inside - I wasn't sure how to go about sanding the inside, or if I even really need to.

Anyway, I just thought I'd share.

Cheers, Mike

artme
18th August 2012, 04:35 PM
Glad you did share!!:2tsup::2tsup::2tsup:

Really nice work.:)

dr4g0nfly
18th August 2012, 05:38 PM
Two firsts in one go - you're pushing yourself.

Good effort on both counts - well done:2tsup:

Scott
18th August 2012, 10:09 PM
Very nice work. My first attempt at a hollow form exploded on me, it's darn hard to work out how thin you should go.

mkypenturner
18th August 2012, 10:38 PM
nice work mike :2tsup: over time if you can get the base smaller to create a flowing effect rising up from table

dr4g0nfly
19th August 2012, 05:46 AM
My first attempt at a hollow form exploded on me

Only the first one - lucky you.

I'm still prone to the odd TARDIS (trying to make the inside bigger than the outside!)

Scott
19th August 2012, 10:01 AM
I'm still prone to the odd TARDIS (trying to make the inside bigger than the outside!)

Haha, I've perfected the bottomless bowl as well :D

Christos
19th August 2012, 12:37 PM