PDA

View Full Version : Al 960b locked apron levers!

Ben Dono
3rd September 2012, 02:10 PM
This is driving me nuts! I have locked the half nut lever, auto feed lever and saddle hand wheel.?

All I moved was the automatic feed lever from "cross" to I think it's in the neutral position and then everything locked up? I got no idea.
It was done with no power to the machine and I have not turned it on since.

I have rotated the chuck by hand to rotate both the feed rod and lead screw while trying to move the levers and hand wheel with no luck?
I'm new to this lathe and the instruction booklet really was no help!
What am i missing? Any ideas guys?

Stustoys
3rd September 2012, 02:52 PM
Hi Ben,
Is this the position your levers are in?

Stuart

Ben Dono
3rd September 2012, 03:17 PM
Thanks Stu,
The half nut lever looks as though it's in the same position as in your picture.
The auto feed lever in mine is up so I believe it is in the "long" position.
Is that any help?

lather
3rd September 2012, 03:34 PM
what's actually locked up.
are both the long feed and cross feed locked at the same time.

Ben Dono
3rd September 2012, 03:42 PM
I cannot move the auto feed lever back into it's neutral position (locked on long) the hand wheel and cross slide is locked as I'm assuming that's normal as it is expecting to be driven the half nut lever is up and locked as this cannot be moved when the auto feed lever is engaged...
Im sure I'm missing something simple. New lathe and first time I have engaged the auto feed levers..

Ben Dono
3rd September 2012, 03:45 PM
Jeeze.... Stu and lather thanks....
It just popped back into place and I have no idea why. I thought it was still in neutral until Stu posted that pic.. Worked out it was in long but the darn lever would not budge in any direction?

Still got no idea how it popped back in?

Thanks for your time guys!

lather
3rd September 2012, 03:50 PM
the cross slide should be adjustable if the feed lever is in the long position.