PDA

View Full Version : Purchasing Wood for Turning

Big A
4th December 2012, 10:25 PM
I was perusing the American site "Woodworkingtalk.com" today and in the "Best Timber for Turning" thread, the OP stated about cocobolo that, "That will be one of my next purchases". Purchase?? What you talkin' about, Willis?

"Purchase" as in buying, I guess. What a novel idea. Is this an American wood turning thing, or do Australian wood turners do it too?

I am only a novice in this game, but I reckon if it ain't free, it ain't good enough to turn!

Cheers,
"A".

Cliff Rogers
4th December 2012, 10:40 PM
Free is good, I have however, bought & sold timber for turning.... not just an old bit of pine or a gum tree & I have never bought or sold a lump of mango timber but, some of the nicer stuff that is hard to get in your area is worth paying for.

TTIT
4th December 2012, 10:48 PM
Being raised by a bloke that filled a 1/2 acre block with logs stacked 6 foot high left me thinking the same thing before I joined the forum and met people that didn't have much choice. A lot of the blokes in the smoke don't have access to easy timber like we do, nor the room to process and store it. I did actually buy a log once but I usually just trade what I collect myself to get the species I can't get with a chainsaw :U

dr4g0nfly
5th December 2012, 06:17 AM
It would appear that you have more liberty with chainsaws and wild trees than we do. Just going out and 'helping ourselves' to woodland trees is mostly frowned upon.

However the sound of a chainsaw always attracts and making friends with the local council Parks Authority or Tree Surgeons usually pays dividends, along with that universal saying - 'Buy yourself a drink.'

rsser
5th December 2012, 06:38 AM