PDA

View Full Version : Concrete Job for Aviary, HELP!?

Skyscraper
4th February 2013, 10:58 PM
Sorry if wrong section, I just really wasnt sure where best to post this.

Ok so to begin, heres the aviary I have (http://www.shedspot.com.au/products/Aviary-Gable-Roof--3m-Wide-x-2.22m-Deep--Pale-Eucalypt.html#):
http://www.shedspot.com.au/product_images/i/a__55432.jpg

It is for budgies, and I live in the sydney australia area. The area that needs to be covered is 3m x 2.4m. The ground underneath is dirt. The price ranges I got when I called small concreters I found in the newspaper listings ranged from 1.6 grand to $750. I am a uni student, and only have a grand to work with. This grand must also cover the cost of birds, food/toys, and some timber+mesh I'll need as im going to be making some dividing walls in the aviary. So as I'm sure you can see now, having a concreter out will cost more then I can afford.

My dad wants me to look into how much it would cost to do the area ourselves, and what procedure to follow, so I figured I'd come and ask the experts here ;)

So my questions are:

For a 3m x 2.4m area, for a bird aviary, how thick should I have the concrete?[all quotes i got were for 4inch thick as a guess from my dad, we dont really know how thick it should be].
Rough cost to do the job ourselves, as in buying the materials and [renting a cement mixer??]
Best procedure to do the concrete? Also how long will whole thing take to do.
Bird owners, is laying down smashed glass before the concrete a good idea [heard that here before, rats can chew through concrete?]
I also saw this timber floor kit (http://www.shedspot.com.au/products/Ozline-Shed-Floor-Kit.html) as an option, looks decent and I could afford this, however it would mean the multiple floor kids joined together would have tiny gaps between them [just like when you join any shapes], so would this be a bad idea or better then doing concrete ourselves? [obviously solid concrete is the best but yeah]