PDA

View Full Version : Newbie!

SquidLYF
15th May 2013, 10:48 PM
Hey guys i'm new around here and i thought what better to start with than my first bowl and a little info.
My names Max, i'm 17 and very new to turning but i love it to bits. Im in my final year of schooling so i don't get too much time to practice sadly.:(
This is my first ever bowl and has plenty of catch marks, ridges and imperfections not to mention varying thickness's! but i'm new to this and only human :U.

Its turned from a piece of Eucalyptus Sieberi that was kicking around the burning pile!
Leave as many comments as you want, i hoping to get to know some of the users around here better! Cheers, Max.

hughie
16th May 2013, 12:55 AM
Well Max I wouldnt be concerned about how bad or how many faults it may have. The trick is have a good look at it,and try and figure out where you went wrong and try again. Practice in this case makes perfect, remember everybody has to start some where even the world best. :U

But for a first bowl it looks pretty good :2tsup: to me.

Paul39
16th May 2013, 03:31 AM
Hi Max,

Nice shape on the bowl. Date it and keep it. Keep turning whenever you can. The burn pile is a wonderful source, each piece is a surprise.

dr4g0nfly
16th May 2013, 06:01 AM
Max,

you've just made your 'Life Bowl'. Somewhere to put your keys and other pocket contents.

A couple of years from now, you'll look at what your capable of and wonder if you should replace this, but your heart will overrule your thought's and it will stay just where you need it.

Welcome to the community of woodturners, we come from all over the world and share the passion you have discovered Ask as you need, we'll answer. Join a club as soon as you can (finish your exams first) and you'll come on in leaps and bounds.

Good to have you aboard.

Rod Gilbert
16th May 2013, 08:23 AM
Welcome Max,