PDA

View Full Version : Tool Sharpening!!

surge82
27th July 2013, 06:09 PM
Hello all!
I am very new to turning wood, and I went to the Sydney timber and working with wood show today and bought a new set of GPW tools, they said they have to be sharpened before use, as I don't want to mess up the tools I am wondering if there is a sharpening service or someone that would sharpen them for me for the first time then I would "try" maintain the grind, any help is much appreciated :)

Thanks Sergio :)

pommyphil
27th July 2013, 06:24 PM
The short answer to the sharpening service is " no " If you mention your suburb one of the Sydney people will point you to a club or mens shed for instruction.Turning tools have to be sharpened very frequently so you must learn. Search this forum and check Utube.
Lots of jigs and methods out there.

Enjoy yourself, and stay sharp. Phil

dai sensei
27th July 2013, 06:41 PM
There should have been someone doing demo's of sharpening at the show. Try your local turning club, someone should be able to help you out, although it is Sydney :rolleyes::U:U:U

Brett Hammond
28th July 2013, 07:54 PM
If you are near Mortdale will put edge on them and give advice how to grind.

Brett

delbs
28th July 2013, 09:10 PM
For those without a grinder does anyone do it by hand? Sharpen turning tools that is :)

Colin62
29th July 2013, 12:48 AM
For those without a grinder does anyone do it by hand? Sharpen turning tools that is :)

I've been doing it by hand for a few years now. I've been using DMT diamond plates (the small ones), but I've found it too time consuming if you're doing more than very occasional turning...

Paul39
29th July 2013, 10:02 AM

Skews are easy, a few strokes on each side on used sandpaper held on a flat surface. Hold bevel flat and pull away from the point.

Spindle gouges, the same but twisting the tool and pulling away from the point, then fold sandpaper around a piece of cardboard and gently hone off any burr on the inside.