PDA

View Full Version : Wood Turning Class for a novice

Greyman
22nd October 2013, 10:59 AM
Hi, I have just taken over a wood lathe from a friend heading overseas and would love some recommendations for good wood turning classes in the Melbourne area.
I am completely new to this so would need to start from the very basics.

_fly_
22nd October 2013, 11:46 AM
Hi, I have just taken over a wood lathe from a friend heading overseas and would love some recommendations for good wood turning classes in the Melbourne area.
I am completely new to this so would need to start from the very basics.

If you want first class great tuition, get in touch with here on the forums, best you'll get.

If you want second class then join your local mens shed, most run classes.

Evanism
22nd October 2013, 11:58 AM
Agreed.

I am saving for a tuition with .

Treecycle
22nd October 2013, 01:16 PM
Which part of Melbourne are you?

Gra
22nd October 2013, 01:49 PM
If you are anywhere near Templestowe, the Templestowe woodworking club run a good beginners class

_fly_
22nd October 2013, 02:37 PM
there is one near chaddy called waverley woodworkers.
There is one in Knox ( more FTG )
there is one in berwick,

Believe there is one in box hill.
North of doncaster or over the westgate do not exist to me so I have no idea.

michael_m
22nd October 2013, 03:13 PM
Pop's Shed in Croydon also run turning classes. Their link is in the sponser's links to the right of the page, I think.

Allan at Wallan
22nd October 2013, 03:26 PM
Welcome Greyman.

It always helps to nominate your suburb and then any interested
members can direct you to the most appropriate group.

We, at Northern Woodturners Club, are located in Kingsbury which
is between Reservoir and Bundoora.

Let me know if you are interested and I can give your more
complete details.

Allan

Gra
22nd October 2013, 04:02 PM
Pop's Shed in Croydon also run turning classes. Their link is in the sponser's links to the right of the page, I think.