PDA

View Full Version : With the grain or across the grain?

Oldgreybeard
8th May 2014, 06:00 PM
My neighbour is replacing his side and back fences and i have just scored 21 off 5" x 3" red gum posts. My brother-in-law also just turned up with 12 off 5" x 5" x about 2 foot long redgum posts from restumping his house.

I want to use some of it for small things like tealight holders and boxes, but am confused as to whether it is best to turn them with the grain runnung parellel to the lathe bed or at 90 degrees to the bed. Or doesn't it make any difference?

I would appreciate your advice.

Thanks
Bob

Christos
8th May 2014, 06:17 PM
I am very new to turning so would be of a simplest opinion. :)

Turn to maximize the amount of wood and less waste.

And I wait to be turned down, by others more experienced . :biggrin2:

tea lady
8th May 2014, 06:46 PM
Just short tea lights? Either way. Maybe try some of each seeing you are new to turning. Perfect opportunity for practice. Just remember always work down the grain.

chuck1
8th May 2014, 06:59 PM
What christos wrote! Minimal waste most projects! It is also governed by the designs of the project, I have done candle stick holders and they had 4 peices of timber 2 parts turned between centres and 2 parts turned on the faceplate!
If I could find it I would post a photo so the above was clearer!

artme
8th May 2014, 07:52 PM
Nice score!! You might get some interesting curly grain if you are lucky.

Don't forget the RG moves like a can of worms so make sure it's well and truly seasoned.
I suggest turning and leaving meat to re- turn after more drying.

smiife
8th May 2014, 08:25 PM
Nice score!! You might get some interesting curly grain if you are lucky.

Don't forget the RG moves like a can of worms so make sure it's well and truly seasoned.
I suggest turning and leaving meat to re- turn after more drying.

Hi guys,
Artme I would imagine if they old fence posts
they would have dried out already?:C