PDA

View Full Version : Incra 1000HD mitre jig for segmented work

jefferson
11th May 2014, 07:25 PM
Testing the collective knowledge out there. Is the above mitre jig enough for all my cutting needs on a table saw? Also,what are the "best" books on offer? I have borrowed the Ray Allen book by Dale Nish plus the Keith Tory book called Polychromatic Woodturning. There are at least 5 segmenting books listed in the Aust. Woodworker too. Thanks.

powderpost
11th May 2014, 09:05 PM
Hi Jeff, Assuming you are getting into segmenting the short answer... yes. They are accurate to 0.1 degrees, the only real problem is getting 0.05 degrees accurately. That is necessary if you need to cut 16 segments. I have been using that mitre gauge now for three years, and I think you would agree, successfully. I did find some inaccuracies using the mitre gauge in the slot in the top of the saw bench. I over came this by buying the supplementary incra sled. Sorry I can't recall the name for it. The grooves in top of the sled are accurate and the sled locks into the groove in the saw bench.
I believe the book by Malcolm Tibbetts is good. I have started writing a book on my experiences at segmenting.
Not bad for a "short" answer?

Jim

powderpost
11th May 2014, 09:17 PM
Just remembered, (senior moment), the "sled was called Mitre Express.
Jim

jefferson
11th May 2014, 10:27 PM