PDA

View Full Version : Help me decide please

Griz066
13th May 2014, 10:24 PM
I am looking to buy a midi lathe and have narrowed it down to the
Jet JWL1220VS
Woodfast 305X
both look very good machines for a similar price.
Any pitfalls I need to know about with either?
Thanks in advance.

Mobyturns
14th May 2014, 08:20 AM
Both have similar capacaties and from my observation at Prossy Turnout are quite capable lathes in their class.

One drawback I have never liked with the Jet is the flimsy outboard attachment of the VS control box and its exposure to knocks. I obtained a grant for the Townsville club to purchase two earlier models of this lathe to use at public demonstrations rather than cart around VL100's on stands. They were great to use out and about and in the clubs workshop but the control box had to be protected.

Rod Gilbert
14th May 2014, 09:30 AM
Hi Griz066,
I have no previous experience with either lathe but going by their spec's from a search and feed back on both models to me the woodfast would be the better machine (as stated by Mobyturns the variable switch positioning on the jet was mentioned and the lack of a safety lock off switch it is a simple toggle) the woodfast for me would be the better choice. Do a google search for both there is quite a lot of information and feedback about them available, hopefully some forum members with either of these will chime in with some first hand experience.
Regards Rod.

tea lady
14th May 2014, 11:31 AM
The tool rest on the jet is slightly more annoying than the tool rest on the woodfast. :U Also some jets have alignment issues. But I guess any lathe can.

Ironwood
14th May 2014, 11:43 AM
I am looking to buy a midi lathe and have narrowed it down to the
Jet JWL1220VS
Woodfast 305X
both look very good machines for a similar price.
Any pitfalls I need to know about with either?
Thanks in advance.

Another lathe which may warrant a look is the GPW Midi, though the VS model wont be in stock for another few weeks.