PDA

View Full Version : hollowing technique help!!!!!!

wilkeswood
17th August 2014, 08:08 AM
Hi guys,
I'm new to turning and I only have what would be called basic chisels, Roughing gouge, Skew, Round nose, a couple bowl gouges. I have been teaching my self how to make hollow forms, bowls, vases etc. But when Im' hollowing out the interior of the deeper items my chisels keep catching and taking bit chunks out and I even shattered a bowl in half yesterday trying to hollow it. I have an old dale l nish book that was printed in 1980 but I think the technique is still relevant. Therefore I'm trying to implement these techniques but i keep chunking up and now it's beginning to make me nervous every time I start hollowing out which is not what I want.

hughie
17th August 2014, 09:33 AM
Not having seen the book I can only guess you may need to vary your bevel angle. Also if your going under the lip conventional gouges wont do it and its a guaranteed catch.

Better still show us a couple pics of what your trying to do along with your tools, all good we have all been down this path at one time or another

Christos
17th August 2014, 10:26 AM
You did not mention scrapers as part of your tools?

Personally I have not done any deep hollow forms and only one piece( a potpourri) that would have been better if I took out more from under the lip. The cuts to the outer walls were done via a scrapper and the tool was coming from the other side of the lathe.

Rod Gilbert
17th August 2014, 10:45 AM
+1 What Hughie said.
Regards Rod.

Woodturnerjosh
17th August 2014, 12:49 PM
I also agree with what Hughie said but maybe you cold put up some photos of you're gouges? and maybe a photo of the forms you're having trouble with?
Regards

Josh

wilkeswood
17th August 2014, 03:16 PM