PDA

View Full Version : carba-tec MC900/MC1100

camphoranzac
3rd July 2005, 08:42 AM
i'M THINKING OF BUYING ONE OF THESE LATHES: CARBA-TEC 900 OR 1100. I AM A BEGINNER SO IF ANY WOODTURNER HAS ONE i'D LIKE TO HEAR FROM THEM.

Bruce Micheal
3rd July 2005, 10:11 AM
Welcome to the forums.
I have a MC900 and have had a few problems with it, not major!
Search these forums and you will find heaps of info on these lathes.
I love mine and it does everything I have ever wanted. I use it to make components for other projects other than turnings?
A good entry level lathe that can do lots!!!!!!! :D :D

Dean
3rd July 2005, 12:24 PM
Good entry level lathe.
Think of it as a stepping stone to something bigger and better later if you take a liking to the craft.

My only issues with it is the pressed metal stand (needs stabilizing with weight) and the tool rest assembly could be a little more solid to help dampen vibration etc), otherwise it has served me well so far.

smidsy
3rd July 2005, 01:44 PM
Welcome to the forum.
Check out this thread as it answers a lot of the questions you're asking.
http://www.woodworkforums.ubeaut.com.au/showthread.php?t=18501&page=1&pp=15

Something to think about is that you will also need chisels and a chuck. For chisels my advice would be to go with the generic set from carbatec - these are cheap enough to learn to sharpen on but good enough to do some nice work with.
The chuck will be a matter of budget, Vicmarc or Nova are the way to go, but stay away from the clone clucks unless you can get one for $30 or less.

Cheers
Paul

camphoranzac
4th July 2005, 07:25 AM
Thanks. I purchased a generic set of tools but I keep hearing that I won't be able to do too much with them so it's good to know that they are ok for a novice.The chuck? Are you referring to the economy scroll chuck CAT KR100 in the carba tec catalogue p.177?Can I use the nova chucks with the insert p.177? cheers JR

Dean
4th July 2005, 10:05 AM