PDA

View Full Version : Using a SupaNova2 Chuck

treefrog
10th July 2005, 10:32 AM
Hi Guys,

I am not new to wood turning however I am new to using a chuck with a wood lathe.

I should pick it up quickly however to get me started could anyone offer me any tips such as the best jaw sizes for bowl widths.

Should I use it as an expanding chuck or the opposite.

I have 50mm and 75mm Jaws at present and any tips on how to use it would help.

Thanks for reading

Joe

Kev Y.
10th July 2005, 11:36 AM
Treefrog, with the use of your chuck,

Use it as an expanding chuck, and also in normal hold mode.. it all depends on the project you are doing and how comfortable you feel at the time.

As with most things woodworking, there is no right or wrong way, just millions of different methods to achieve the same end result.

arose62
10th July 2005, 12:03 PM
My 2 cents worth is to be a bit more careful using the expanding mode.

If you overtighten in contracting mode, the worst you do is crush the wood more than it needs to be held securely.

If you overexpand, you risk splitting the wood, and having parts of your turning come towards you at great speed.

In contracting mode, you can also hold square bits of wood, by lining the corners of the woood up in the gaps between the jaws.

Cheers,
Andrew

arose62
10th July 2005, 12:06 PM
Most Important!!

Make sure you ALWAYS take the chuck key out before starting the lathe!!

If you've done lots of turning, but are only starting with a chuck now, put some infallible system in place to make sure you can't/don't start with the chuck key still in the chuck!

Tie the key to something solid, paint it a bright colour, attach it to the plug of the lathe, or some other idea.

Cheers,
Andrew

treefrog
10th July 2005, 06:32 PM
Hi Guys thanks heaps for the replies.