PDA

View Full Version : Can I sharpen lathe tools on this disc?

dunamis
23rd January 2015, 08:42 PM
Hi all I'm new to turning having borrowed a cheap lathe from a mate and I've just bluntened my first gouge and then thought "how the hell do I sharpen this??" I don't have a grinder but there is a disc attachment on the lathe. Is that good for sharpening tools?

http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/15/01/23/daf302651a848366a2f15cea280e76d1.jpg

Should I glue a hook and loop kit onto it? Or just glue sandpaper to the disc? Do I need metal sanding sandpaper? Is 120 about right? Do I need a jig?

Thanks John.

dai sensei
23rd January 2015, 10:03 PM
Yes you can, but as a beginner, not sure that I would. With just a table, not jigs nor experience, you might make a mess of it and end up with a short blunt tool. If you do, get some crap steel to practice on before subjecting you chisels to it.

Pat
24th January 2015, 07:32 AM
John, with sharpening, wot Neil says is right.

Do yourself a favour and slide a lenght of 3/4" (19mm) ply thru the channel under the bed of the lathe. This will strengthen the entire frame of the lathe and reduce some of the flex. I started on this style of lathe, a little while ago.

Find a club or a friendly turner in your area and learn from them. Learning from books (in my case) or even the plethora of "instructional" videos on youtube is the hard way.

Evanism
25th January 2015, 05:41 PM
Grab a second hand grinder like this one: http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/newnham/power-tools/bench-grinder/1067860894

New wheels are available from a car store like Super-Cheap. There is a little to learn here, but the issue of grinders and wheels are well written about in other threads.... but this $10 grinder will save you a LOT of monetary pain.

It'll get you going very quickly plus if the turning bug doesnt bite you can sell it for more than you paid. :)

dunamis
25th January 2015, 06:58 PM
Ok so the bench grinder is better than the disc on the lathe?