PDA

View Full Version : New Member

60klix
22nd April 2015, 03:26 PM
Hi to all, I live on the Gippsland lakes,

I'm a new member to this forum but not new to turning. It has been about 15 years since I last turned and because of work commitments have had to wait until now I'm retired to get back into it. I used to make a lot of bowls but at the ime had developed a passion to make small lided boxes something I would like to start again.
At the time I was producing some pretty good work, was self taught and did a course with Vic Wood who helped me get my act together.

The problems I've got is I've forgotten some things and need some help to get started again. I have a Technatool Nova3000 Lathe, 2 chucks and accessories and a full range of P&N Chisels that originally were blanks and I made my own handles to suit. I have my bench grinder with aluminium oxide wheels but cant remember what grit I was using to sharpen the chisels so need advice on this as the labels are gone.

I also used to buy blanks off Rare Woods but they are long gone so need a source for blanks if there is one around. I used to sharpen the chisels by hand but having tried that again I realised that skill has gone out the window so need advise on a sharpening system I can buy, Ive looked at one on the web from Woodcut in NZ.

Last but not least I had a Dust helmet along the same principle as the Trend Airshiled but it had the filter on the belt, I cant remember the name of the unit but it was great. So I need advice on similar units.

Thanks for any help
Terry

Bluegum
22nd April 2015, 09:34 PM