PDA

View Full Version : Ledacraft mini lafte

Steve Lowe
18th October 2015, 01:40 PM
Can any body help me I am very new to wood turning in fact I have never turn at all yet I have recently purchase a Ledacraft mini lafte I am still waiting for it to be delivered. I was wondering if any body has any experience with this product.

Pat
18th October 2015, 03:37 PM
Small lathes look similar and have similar performance. The 1x10 thread is no longer standard for Australian wood lathes, but you can still purchase inserts, faceplates and other accessories readily. The most important item is training. Learning to turn from books or now days, youtube, is fraught with danger, as you do not know enough or have the experience to deal with things when they go wrong. Look up Sydney Woodturners.

issatree
18th October 2015, 05:46 PM
Hi Steve,
I don't know if your L/L is new or 2nd.Hand.
I have had my L/L for many years, change the Belt yourself, & I will state that it is a better Lathe than some of the other makes being Yellow, Green.
Yes, I'm Biased, why woodn't I be, as it does some things far better than the others, & has never broken down in all the Demo's I've done over the years.
Don't worry about the 1x10, as there are still plenty of Accessories around.
CWS carry some.
Make your Stand out of Steel, but sit the Lathe on Rails, & all your Shavings fall through to the floor. Rails could be Sq. Tube 2x2, or Angle Iron also 2x2in. Place some lead sheet between Lathe & Stand at the Bolts, & that should reduce the Vibrations.
They are a great Lathe, & they do need, as all Lathes do, is TLC.
Wood like to hear how you get on with it.

Steve Lowe
4th January 2016, 09:04 PM
Thanks for the responce Pat. Thats good advise I will look up Sydney woodturners Thanks again

Steve Lowe
4th January 2016, 09:27 PM
G.day Issatree